Sapsucker's Blog

Tall tales, myths, legends and a few facts about the Thornbury family

Last laughs…

on March 9, 2010

As a boy, on a cold winter night I was sitting in the living room watching tv. I was laying on my belly with my hands on my chin looking up at the tv. I heard the door to the basement open and I assumed it was Dad getting home from work. Sure enough I was right. A few short seconds later he was standing over me tickling me. I squirmed and scooted all the way down the hallway as he continued to tickle me and we continued to laugh. I scooted all the way into my bedroom and then back down the hallway to the living room. As he did as often as he could, we spent the entire evening together, laughing and playing. We ended the evening by kneeling at the bed and saying our prayers together.

Little did I know it was the last laugh(s) I would have with Dad here. He passed away the following day at 1:30pm  January 27, 1987. He now looks down and no doubt laughs at me and his grandson as we play and spend time together just like he taught me to.

Leave a Reply

