Sapsucker's Blog

Tall tales, myths, legends and a few facts about the Thornbury family

The foundation – 30 years later

on January 27, 2017

Ever since I was a little boy, I wanted to be a father. I suppose the example my Father left for me is a big reason I wanted to be a Dad. 

I am now almost the age my father was when he passed away (44years 9mo. 6 days). I’ve always wondered if I would outlive my Dad. Now, just a few short months away and today on the 30th anniversary of his death (1/27/87), I appreciate everyday and everyone in them more than I ever have. 

And as strange as it may sound, I’m closer to my Dad now than ever before. You see, I’ve been a Dad for over 10 years now (we have one boy, Clayton) and a little bit of Dad comes out in me on a daily basis. This is what has helped me realize how vital a good foundation is when building things. Things like homes, families and especially children.

My Dad passed when I was 14 years old, which is quiet young to stop building a foundation. I am thankful that he realized how important and urgent it was to build my foundation strong from day one. 
I’m only going to be the center of Clayton’s universe for a short time, so I realize I have to take this opportunity to build strong foundation, as I don’t know when the building will have to stop. 

So today I choose to focus on leaving a legacy of love and happiness for my son, because that is what Dads do, they pass stuff on, the best of themselves to their kids.

Leave a Reply

